Who Am I?

Our class was wild over our two week literacy unit surrounding the Iditarod Sled Dog Race!  We challenged our favorite musher by counting each page we read during the race as a mile on our giant map of Alaska.  We devoured all kinds of fiction and nonfiction mushing books. We discovered more about nonfiction graphic sources, and we ended every day dancing to “I Did, I Did, I Did the Iditarod Trail.”

Who Am I?

I am the one who yells, “Hike!” through the woods.

The snow sprays on my face.

The dogs are ready to race.

The crowd cheers as I wind the race!

I am the trustful musher.

2 thoughts on “Who Am I?”

  1. Good Morning,
    The description of your week of learning includes so much to be excited about. Now that I have read that there is a song about the the Iditarod, I must look it up!

    Your poem is full of energy and creates a mood of anticipation. Do you enjoy writing poetry?

    My 6th grade students are starting a unit on poetry next week and it is my favorite one to explore.

    Happy Writing!
    Mrs. D
    STUBC commenter
    Cave Creek, AZ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *